Democratic Members Launch Climate Change Floor Initiative

WASHINGTON, DC— Following President Obama’s recent call to action on climate change in his State of the Union address, today nearly two dozen Democratic members of the House of Representatives announced the formation of the Safe Climate Caucus.  The Caucus members have made a commitment to talk every day on the House Floor about the urgent need to address climate change.

The group includes Reps. Henry A. Waxman, Earl Blumenauer, Lois Capps, Emanuel Cleaver, Steve Cohen, Donna Edwards, Keith Ellison, Tulsi Gabbard, John Garamendi, Raul Grijalva, Rush Holt, Jared Huffman, Hank Johnson, Barbara Lee, Ben Ray Lujan, Edward Markey, Doris Matsui, Jerry McNerney, Jim Moran, Bobby L. Rush, Paul Tonko, Chris Van Hollen, and Peter Welch. 

The Caucus unites members from all around the country, both senior and junior members of Congress, to draw attention to the threat of climate change.

The Safe Climate Caucus launched its first day with five one-minute speeches following votes.  Reps. Waxman, Capps, Matsui, Cleaver, and Huffman delivered speeches today.  Video of the floor speeches is available online here.

The members held a press conference today to announce the initiative.  Rep. Waxman’s statement from the press conference is available online here and his Floor statement is available here.  Rep. Huffman’s remarks from the press conference are also available online hereRep. Cleaver's remarks from the Floor are available online here. Rep. Matsui's remarks from the press conference are available here and her Floor statement is available here.